Filtered By: News

Comelec expects to proclaim all winning senators by Wednesday evening

(Updated 11:50 a.m.) Elections chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. on Tuesday said the poll body expects to proclaim all the 12 winning senatorial candidates by 7:00 p.m. Wednesday.
“By tomorrow 7 p.m., exactly 48 hours after the voting period ends, we expect to proclaim the senators. All (the 12 winning) senators. That is what we expect,” Brillantes told reporters at a press briefing.
“That is what we are projecting, we want to proclaim 12 senators tomorrow night,” he added.
As of posting time, the National Board of Canvassers, composed of Brillantes and six commissioners, has canvassed results from Guimaras and Paranaque City.
Based on the partial and unofficial tally as of 10:25 a.m. Tuesday and with 67.43 percent of the returns, Grace Poe is leading the senatorial race with 14,480,405 votes, followed by fellow administration bets and reelectionists Loren Legarda (13,236,955 votes), Alan Peter Cayetano (12,529,209 votes), and Francis Escudero (12,527,364 votes).
There were followed by:
5          Nancy Binay     11,789,643
6          Sonny Angara   11,381,246
7          Bam Aquino     10,956,504
8          Koko Pimentel 10,499,683
9          Antonio Trillanes IV      10,090,054
10        Cynthia Villar    9,819,559
11        JV Ejercito Estrada       9,745,139
12        Gringo Honasa 9,406,758
13        Dick Gordon    9,003,298
14        Migz Zubiri       8,398,140
15        Jack Enrile        8,129,967