Filtered By: News

Comelec to file charges against 32 candidates for campaign overspending

Comelec Commissioner Christian Robert Lim said on Tuesday that their Law Department will file overspending cases against 32 local candidates who ran during the 2010 and 2013 polls.

Section 100 of the Omnibus Election Code says that no candidate shall spend for his election campaign more than the amount set by the law.

Among those to be charged were five politicians who ran for Congressional seats during the 2010 polls:
  • Narzal B. Mallares, Lone District, Antique;
  • Lydia Soriano Depra Ramos, 2nd L. District, Cagayan;
  • Florencio Aranas Narido, Jr., Lone District Camiguin;
  • Leopoldo Castro Tomas, 2 District, Nueva Ecija; and
  • Eduardo Kintana Veloso, 2nd L. District, Leyte.
The Comelec's Law Department, meanwhile, reported that among the top three politicians who overspent (in terms of percentage of excess) was Ibrahim Mitoon Macadato. He ran for mayor in Butig, Lanao del Sur in 2013, and had spent P361,600 (1459.70%) compared to the allowed expense of P23,184.  
Next was 2010 Batan, Aklan mayoralty candidate Dante Tulio Reyes, who spent P325,000 (475.08%), compared to the allowed expense of P56,514.
Meanwhile, Gima Gani Kallahal, who ran in 2010 for a Sangguniang Bayan seat in the 2nd District of Tubuiran, Basilan spent P150,000 (424.66%) compared to the allowed expense of P28,590.

The other candidates to be charged are:

  • Oliver Bradley Bag-ayan,
  • Galao Gaano Lomioan,
  • Romeo Pacquing Magaway,
  • Diomedes Casimsiman Amaroto Sr.,
  • Alberto Rediang,
  • Oliver Escamis Ranque,
  • Bonifacio Romaraog Billones,
  • Glenn Romeo M. Gontang,
  • Maria Riza Pacon Ledesma,
  • Mario Ballogan Buyaccan
  • Rufo Tanqui-on Cabos,
  • Proceso Poncio Balasbas,
  • Abdul Said Utto Lumenda,
  • Rogelio Castilar Delapa,
  • Virginia Requillo Zacate,
  • George Sistona Legaspi,
  • Alex Manlapaz Manlapaz,
  • Rey Estoque Yamaro,
  • Junebell Oraiz Balandra,
  • Abdalun Hadjibon Awilun,
  • Michael Antonio Magsaysay,
  • Darell B. Dela Flor,
  • Carlos de leon Valdez Jr.,
  • Felipe Fonte Ferriol,
  • Gody H. Cardenas,
  • Baltazar Visaya Sinajon,
  • Jose A. Norella, Jr., and
  • Aida Badialan De La Rosa.

Meanwhile, four other cases were dismissed due to the death of the respondents. — DVM/KG, GMA News