Filtered By: News

10 Abu Sayyaf members surrender in Basilan

Ten members of the Abu Sayyaf group surrendered to government forces on Monday in Ungkaya Pukan, Basilan, the military said on Tuesday.

Western Mindanao Command (WestMinCom) spokesman Major Arvin Encinas identified the 10, who were under Furuji Indama, as Masbil Hoben, Haidal Tadling, Tong Sarunan, Said Kapon, Atung Ajallun, Samatin Matindo, Mulhakim Alabin, Asanuddin Dailon, Andoy Pingli, and Sanny Arasain

The Abu Sayyaf members also surrendered their high-powered weapons to the 18th Infantry Battalion.

Encinas also said assorted firearms were turned over by the barangay officials from the municipalities of Albarka and Tipo-Tipo.

A total of 32 firearms including one ultimax, two M14, four M16, one M203, four Carbine, and 20 Garand rifles were surrendered to government forces, Encinas said.

Meanwhile, Lieutenant Colonel Ivan San Jose, commanding officer of the 18th Infantry Battalion, welcomed those local terrorists who surrendered.

"We welcome all those who want to end the conflict in a peaceful way. We expect more of them to return to the mainstream of society," San Jose said.

Those who surrendered and their firearms were subsequently presented to Joint Task Force Basilan commander Brigadier General Fernando Reyeg. —Anna Felicia Bajo/KBK, GMA News