PBA: League cites 2006-07 adoption of FIBA goaltending rule to uphold San Mig's win
In the aftermath of the San Mig Coffee Mixers' slim 92-91 win over the Barako Bull Energy Cola, fans debated back-and-forth over whether or not Rafi Reavis' game-clinching play, a swat at an Enrico Villanueva attempt while the ball was on the rim, was a goaltend or not. It turns out it wasn't, allowing San Mig's win to stand. Back in the 2006-2007, the PBA adopted FIBA’s ruling on goaltending. This was done so that PBA players could get used to the rules they’d have to face during international competition. According to FIBA, “All rules prevent players from touching the ball on its downward flight toward the basket if it still has a chance to enter the basket. Reaching through the basket to play the ball is also a violation. The major differences center on what happens after a shot hits the ring but still has an opportunity to enter the basket.” The FIBA rule adds that “Once the ball strikes the ring, any player can play the ball. Once the ball is in the basket, the offense can no longer violate.” In contrast, the NBA enforces a rule wherein there is an imaginary cylinder on top of the ring. No player can touch the ball while it is still inside this cylinder. This is usually where fans get things mixed up, due to the popularity of the NBA. FIBA has tried to convince the American league to use the same ruling, but to no avail, so far. The head coaches of the game between the San Mig Coffee Mixers and the Barako Bull Energy Cola had different opinions on the matter. “Rafi always does that even on free throws,” explained Mixers head coach Tim Cone. “It was a smart, smart play by Rafi.” Barako Bull head coach Junel Baculi thought otherwise. “If it’s bouncing you can touch it but [Villanueva’s] shot was resting and it had a chance of going in.” Baculi added that he saw a referee motioning for a violation. “The interpretation of the referee near our bench was goaltending but he was overruled.” Baculi also questioned why other players do not try to tap the ball after it hits the rim. “There are a lot of players who can do that. Even Marc Pingris isn’t doing that and he’s very much capable of doing that,” said Baculi. However, PBA Commisioner Chito Salud cleared up the issue. “That’s not goaltending,” Salud said about Reavis’ tip. “That’s a good call. Our rule since 06-07 is that any player can swipe it in or swipe it out and that’s exactly what happened in the last play. Reavis swiped it out and that’s a good play.” Salud also explained that the PBA’s goaltending rule is crystal clear. “Ang goaltending na lang natin ngayon is when the ball is on its way down, before it touches the rim. “ Tapping the ball after it hits the backboard is also illegal because the ball is still on its way down to the rim after it hits the board. The commissioner also explained that the only way this could be deemed illegal is if Reavis swatted the ball away after the game clock had expired which clearly was not the case in the situation. - AMD, GMA News